Westmorland and Lonsdale constituency was formed in 1983.  It is named for the historic county of Westmorland and the Lancashire Hundred of Lonsdale, both of which extend beyond the bounds of the constituency.

Labour’s General Election candidates in Westmorland and Lonsdale (% of vote)

2019 Phillip Black (4.4%)
2017 Eli Aldridge (9.3%)
2015 John Bateson (5.4%)
2010 Jonathan Todd (2.2%)
2005 John Reardon (7.6%)
2001 John Bateson (10.9%)
1997 John Harding (20.6%)
1992 Dickon Abbott (15.1%)
1987 Shaun Halfpenny (13.2%)
1983 Chris Stott (9.9%)

Westmorland was a constituency covering the county of Westmorland. The constituency had two separate periods of existence:
Until 1885 it returned two Members of Parliament (MPs) to the House of Commons. For the 1885 general election, Westmorland was divided into two constituencies: Appleby and Kendal, both of which had been parliamentary boroughs but were reconstituted as county constituencies.
1918–1983 The constituency was recreated as a single-seater for the 1918 general election and abolished for the 1983 general election. In the boundary changes in 1983 the southern part of the constituency of Westmorland became part of the new seat of Westmorland and Lonsdale and the northern area was transferred to Penrith and The Border.

Labour’s General Election candidates in Westmorland (% of vote)

1979 Archie Potts (14.55%)
1974 (October) Murray Taylor (17.38%)
1974 (February) Peter J Hildrew (14.6%)
1970 Roger Ward (20.2%)
1966 John Dayton (23.9%)
1964 Norman Plamping (18.27%)
1959 Corin Hughes-Stanton (19.9%)
1955 Ivor Ralph Million (21.6%)
1951 Paul Wilson (22.9%)
1950 Paul Wilson (22.4%)
1945 Harold Banning Richardson (26.1%)
1939-40 R S Armstrong (election cancelled due to war)
1935 Evelyn V Short (31.5%)
1931 no candidate
1929 Walter Bone (12.1%)
1924 Reginald Penrith Burnett (28.2%)


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search